dearasebo.blogg.se

Vintage coach purse leather care
Vintage coach purse leather care







vintage coach purse leather care

The bag did not absorbe water at all, but seemed to be water resistant just fine.

vintage coach purse leather care

I took in the bath room and washed it with cold water to make sure that I got all of the grease off the bag. I rubbed the grease off the bag and got online only to find out that putting grease on Dooney and Bourke all weather leather was a bad idea. The next say when I got home in the evening I noticed that the bag had not absorbed the grease like lather bags usually do. I just rubbed it all over the bag and went to bed. On the same day I got it in the mail I treated it with leather conditioner/grease which I always do with lather bags when I get them before I begin to use them. My first Donney and Bourke bag! They are unknown in Denmark as far as I l know so I got it from the USA at a high cost. I had asked you about a Dooney and Bourke Norfolk but ended up bying a vintage Dooney and Bourke X-large hobo instead. You can always buy authentic Dooney & Bourke bags on our website. That coupled with a broken zipper really puts the value of this bag quite low. The main value of a vintage Dooney & Bourke bag is the condition: cleanliness, no damage to stitching, no broken or missing parts, no odors.įrom a quick view of the bag you sent, I see that there is also a missing shoulder strap, missing leather thongs on at least one end of the bag, and quite a bit of wear to the exterior of the bag. If, however, it is one of the interior zippers, it might not devalue the bag quite as much as some people might not mind using the zipper pouch as just a slip pouch, leaving the zipper permanently open. If you tried to sell that bag on eBay, for example, you’d likely not even get a bid. That’s because few people want to take the time and effort and invest the money to send the bag back to Dooney & Bourke for repair. If two similar satchels were in about an 8 out of 10 condition and the one with the functional zipper was worth $150 retail the one with the broken zipper would be worth $25 or less. If it is the main zipper, I’m afraid it devalues the bag by quite a bit. Since most of the bags like this have one or two interior zipper pouches, I wasn’t sure which was broken on yours. You don’t mention if the broken zipper is the main zipper which closes the bag or an interior zipper. Can you tell me the bag’s worth since the zipper is busted? I have tried some tricks to fix it myself, but to no avail. I, unfortunately, did not read the description closely as this bag’s zipper doesn’t work. Unfortunately I don't have a digital camera so can only show a few photos from the original listings of the ones I bought on Ebay.I have purchased a vintage mini satchel similar to what you have in a post from jin the taupe and brown from another site. It's heavier, gets softer with age, and has a classic look that never really goes out of style. I have at least 20 bags that are ten years old or older, and I love the older Coach leather. There are bags listed as "Bonnie Cashin" that aren't, and bags listed as "vintage" that aren't even ten years old yet.

vintage coach purse leather care

ALWAYS check the feedback of anyone selling older Coaches.Īlso, some sellers are clueless about older bags, and have no idea of their age or even if the bags are genuine (yes, even older Coaches were faked!).

vintage coach purse leather care

Some sellers also re-dye older bags and don't disclose it in their listings. Just be careful about buying the really old ones - if they haven't been taken care of properly the leather can get dried out and even cracked. Click to expand.You can enter "Coach vintage" in Ebay's search box and see a good selection of older bags.









Vintage coach purse leather care